Today I am Thankful…

To wake up before everyone else to a quiet, messy lived in home. To have the chance to sneak in and watch my baby girl sleep, crunched in half, butt in the air snuggling her favorite ‘Porper’ (stuffed puppy).

Then I walk down the hallway, which most of the time feels to narrow, but today instead of the narrow horrible paneling I focus instead on the hallway closet that has a rather large stockpile of food. I smile to myself remembering my husbands panic when our supplies fall below 3 months worth of food (in case of an emergency). Now I am thankful the head of my household’s passion lies in preparing his family for disasters instead of the million other hobbies he could have. I am thankful, because I know he prays every night to God to keep us safe, because he knows that he can only do so little and that he needs our Heavenly Fathers help.

I am thankful to have Sundays off this holiday season, because I didn’t last year. I am thankful for the opportunity to go be with my church family every week if we choose too. I am also thankful that God doesn’t care if I worship him in a formal church or with my family snuggled around me in bed reading the Bible to my daughter on Sunday morning. There are times that I feel closer to God outside of church, and for that I am extremely thankful.

I was sad this week about Thanksgiving because we are not going to be able to travel to Missouri to see my family there again this year. But, last year we were able to have Ade’s first Thanksgiving together, as a family of three and I will cherish that memory forever. This year, we are getting to spend it with Bran’s mom and step-dad, and I am thankful for that. I want Ade to remember Thanksgiving as a time to spend with loved ones, and not always the same ones because we are blessed to have lots and lots of loved ones. For that I am thankful.

This morning I logged onto Facebook to wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving and the first thing to catch my eye was a post from a friend about her less than a year old daughters trip to the emergency room last night. It took my breath away as I prayed for her and her little girl and with my sigh of relief that she was okay I was thankful. Not just that their scary moment was over, but that even though I am always worried for my daughter and her heart defect we have never had to rush her to the emergency room. For that, I am so very thankful.

Thinking about Ade and her heart condition my mood changes, because even though she is healthy we have been fighting with her medical bills. Nothing outrageous, but still cumbersome. Then I remember, that even with those that we are still paying on, we have paid off a considerable amount more. For the ability to keep paying our bills in such an uncertain time, I am thankful. For both of our jobs, I am thankful and for Bran’s opportunity to go back to school and finish his degree (and us to be able to afford it) I am thankful.

But most of all today I am thankful for Thanksgiving. Not because tomorrow is Black Friday, or because it is a day for me to be thankful, but because it is a day that reminds me that I should be thankful for EVERYthing, EVERYday.

 

I realize that a lot of people are using this quote, but I want you to really think about it and not brush it off because you have heard it before. It is a great reminder for all of us, for every day.

Happy Thanksgiving!

3 thoughts on “Today I am Thankful…

Tell me what you think!

