There are a lot of birthdays in my family this time of year.

So guess whose birthday it is today? (If you said me, you’re wrong!)

It’s my Momma’s Birthday!! And, because I am also a woman, I refuse to tell you how young she is!

Like many ladies out there, when I heard the lyrics to Lauren Alaina’s song “Like My Mother Does” I felt kind of like she was singing about my mom and I! Since she can say how I feel much more elegantly then I could ever hope I’m going to put her lyrics here to celebrate my mommy’s birthday! I love you Mom! (I have bolded the lines that make me think the most of my mom.)

People always say I have a laugh
Like my mother does
Guess that makes sense
She taught me how to smile when things get rough
I’ve got her spirit
And she’s always got my back
When I look at her
I think I wanna be just like that

When I love, I give it all I got
Like my mother does
When I’m scared, I bow my head and pray
Like my mother does
When I feel weak and un-pretty
I know I’m beautiful and strong
Because, I see myself
Like my mother does

I never met a stranger,
I can talk to anyone
Like my mother does
I let my temper fly
But she can walk away, when she’s had enough

She sees everybody, for who they really are
I’m so thankful for her guidance
She’s helped me get this far

When I love, I give it all I got
Like my mother does
And when I’m scared, I bow my head and pray
Like my mother does
When I feel weak and un-pretty
I know I’m beautiful and strong
Because, I see myself
Like my mother does

She’s a rock
She is grace
She’s an angel
She’s my heart and soul
She does it all

When I love, I give it all I got
Like my mother does
And when I’m scared, I bow my head and pray
Like my mother does
When I feel weak and un-pretty
I know I’m beautiful and strong
Because, I see myself
Like my mother does

I hear people saying
I’m starting to look
Like my mother does

Tell me what you think!

