Stumbling through the history of blogging…

My parents are not your average parents. Unlike numerous parents out there jumping into the social media crazy, my parents are adamantly
refusing.

Facebook? Oh no.
Twitter? Never.
Google+? I don’t think they know it exists.
Myspace? (Wait, that one practically doesn’t exist. )

So, when I sent out an e-mail asking for sponsors for my upcoming March For Dimes my mom was introduced to a new interwebs idea. (My dad is still blissfully clueless about this too.)

The blog.

After discovering my blog and finding out what it was called (because the word ‘blog’ was not previously part of her vocabulary) she had just one very insightful question for me.

“What is the word ‘blog’?”

Oh mom, you silly goose. “It’s the word used to describe a website like what I have.”

“But, who came up with it? Is it because it is where you go to ‘blah,blah,blahog’?”

Really? Thanks mom, that was clever.

Then I got to thinking, where did this word come from? A quick google search later and I end up at Wikipedia (hey, this isn’t an ‘official’
paper so don’t judge, geez!!) This is what I found out:

In 1997, Jorn Barger coined the term weblog, to describe when you are “logging on the web”. (When you have time you should read some Jorn’s stuff, he is kind of fascinating). The term was later shortened to “blog” by Peter Merholz in 1999.

Apparently, most people at the time were under the impression that the weblog was just a temporary means of cataloging information.

In the words of Julian Dibbell, in 2000: “And when something more efficient did come along, in the form of search engines and hierarchical indexes, it seemed safe to assume that Web logs would politely shrivel up and blow away. Instead, though, they evolved, gradually feeling their way toward an unexpected maturity as a form. By now, hundreds of more and less artfully maintained blogs have emerged.”

And evolve they did.

Just another example of how something can be so wildly underestimated. How people’s opinions and assumptions can be DEAD wrong. Kind of inspirational isn’t it? The blog was tossed aside, not given a second look because it was expected to politely die. Funny how it always seems like the biggest successes start out as ‘no big deal’ and somehow manage to push themselves through everyone’s preconceived notions and into the spotlight.

Just another reason  nay-sayers don’t deserve any credit in your (and my) life.

And I leave you with a question I found at the bottom of this article: Are bloggers underappreciated visionaries providing a much-needed service, or are they navel-gazers who are best left alone? Both? Neither?

4 thoughts on “Stumbling through the history of blogging…

  1. Lindsey

    I thought “blog” was short for “weblog.”

    I think a lot of the “mommyblogger” types do it for therapy at first, and then evolve from there. Sometimes reading a post that I could’ve written just makes my day. So that would make mommybloggers “navel-gazers providing a much-needed service”?
    The ones doing it solely for self-promotion or money or branding I could leave alone. Totally depends on the blogger.

    1. I agree! The content has a lot to do with how I feel about the blog and the purpose for the blog. Being able to relate makes a big difference, but I also enjoy a really well written blog (and sit there and wonder why I can’t think to connect ideas/words in such a way (can I blame mommy-brain?)) even if I cannot relate on a personal level. No matter the subject, I would say as long as the purpose of the blog is to communicate an idea/feeling and is done in such a way that others are able understand/appreciate the blog it will always be a worthwhile venture.

      Plus, wordpress will always be a much cheaper therapy whether writing my frustrations out or relaxing reading that someone elses day was just as bad 🙂

    1. Since I presented the idea to bloggers, I expected some okay, a lot, of bias. Totally biased myself, although I’m not sure we are underappreciated anymore. Yeah, I’ll just go with VISONARIES! Makes me feel special 😉

Tell me what you think!

