Baby Shower Fun Update!

Since making my second diaper cake a number of people have asked my how/why I make them the way I do. Couldn’t be because a lot of the same people were at both showers. 🙂 Anyways, there are a few reasons why I chose to make my diaper cakes this way.

   1. They are a ton easier to make!! The cakes were you roll up every, single diaper and put a rubber band around it are so tedious. Each of the cakes above has 100 diapers in it. Can you seriously except me to roll up 100 diapers? Yeah, I don’t think I like anybody that much. Sorry.

2. You can fit tons more diapers in a normal sized cake. Seriously, if you are wanting to save some money then don’t make them this way. Instead put your time, sore fingers, and carpal tunnel syndrome into lovingly producing the rolled up version of these. Personally, I would rather buy one more package and get done in 1/4th the time, but everyone is different.

3. I think they look more ‘professional’ this way. But I have seen a number of rolled up versions that look very good. Maybe it just comes down to how they are decorated? These do seem to come out more uniform though. But that is because of how they are made.

4. Easier on the recipent.I recieved a rolled up diaper cake at one of my baby showers. I LOVED it!! I waited until the night before AJ was to be induced to take it apart because I just didn’t want to take it apart. I sat down, cut the ribbon off and started  unwrapping all the diapers. Since you use rubber bands to roll up the diapers, some of them would tear as you pulled the rubber band off. By the time I was 20 or so in I was contemplating just throwing them all away. It is a pain in the you know what. Instead, when you give this version of a diaper cake all the momma has to do is cut the ribbon on each layer and put the diapers away. Takes 2 seconds tops!

Okay now that I have talked you into my version, I think you should know that I learned how to do this on YouTube. Oh, heck yes. Don’t know how to fix your facet? YouTube. Don’t know how to crochet baby booties? YouTube. Want to learn what not to do to propose? YouTube. Want to learn to make a bomb? Yeah, don’t do that the FBI disapproves.

This is the particular video I watched, I’m sure there are others:

3 thoughts on “Baby Shower Fun Update!

  1. Pingback: Baby Shower Fun « Chemically Inclined

Tell me what you think!

