Works for me Wednesday: Meal Planning

works for me wednesdays

Okay, here goes my first attempt at Works For Me Wednesday (WFMW)! As many moms are starting to do more and more, we plan out our meals for a month (some plan for a week or two) and then make one HUGE shopping trip. I started this back when Bran and I first got married, and I highly recommend it. One tool that I have recently found that I now use all the time is the Allrecipes.com menu planner! It’s a nifty little tool that allows you to take recipes that you have found from other users and put into your Recipe Box and recipes that you have added to a day-to-day menu. Then when you are done planning you can print out the weeks to hang on the fridge AND auto-populated shopping list. That is my favorite part! I print off the shopping list, compare it to what I have in the house, make adjustments and add other items I may need or that are on sale and then print of a new one! So user-friendly, I can’t remember how I planned the shopping list without it.

One con however is that you do have to have a paid membership with Allrecipes to access this feature.

$9.95 for 6 months, $1.65 per month.
$17.50 for 1 year, $1.50 per month.
$22.95 for 2 years, $1.00 per month.

I know this isn’t for everyone, but with work and keeping up with the house, saving time with this nifty tool is totally worth the price to me!

**I was NOT paid in any way to write this post. I just really like the convience of this tool.**

2 thoughts on “Works for me Wednesday: Meal Planning

  1. I love “we are that family”, one of the first blogs I ever read. I have been wanting to try a WFMW for ages now and just haven’t thought of anything good to write yet. Good for you, you are jumping into this blogging thing with both feet!!!

  2. I know what you mean, I sat staring at the computer thinking: “OK, seriously, there HAS to be something that works for me. Otherwise, I would be a TOTAL mess.”

    Well, that sounds about right, huh? I think I have a head start for next week though, I’m going to talk about Ivory soap as a spot remover and link to the laundry experiment.

    I bet if you look through your past blogs you’ll find something that would work great to get you started! Like maybe the job chart thing? Picky eaters are born?

Tell me what you think!

